Lerigoligan reviews                         

Patrick Boase & M.A. McDiarmid      

31 Banavie Rd, Glasgow G11 5AW      

0141 339 3064     

a west highland retreat

studio/games roomshapeimage_1_link_0
bookingshapeimage_2_link_0
homeLerigoligan.htmlLerigoligan.htmlshapeimage_3_link_0
cottageInterior.html
studio/games roomBothy.htmlBothy.htmlshapeimage_5_link_0
bookingBooking.htmlBooking.htmlshapeimage_6_link_0
locationMap.htmlMap.htmlshapeimage_7_link_0
galleryFood.htmlFood.htmlshapeimage_8_link_0
newsshapeimage_9_link_0
activitiesactivities.htmlactivities.htmlshapeimage_10_link_0
studio/games roomshapeimage_11_link_0
bookingshapeimage_12_link_0
homeLerigoligan.htmlLerigoligan.htmlshapeimage_13_link_0
cottageInterior.html
studio/games roomBothy.htmlBothy.htmlshapeimage_15_link_0
contactContact.html
locationMap.htmlMap.htmlshapeimage_17_link_0
galleryFood.htmlFood.htmlshapeimage_18_link_0
newsshapeimage_19_link_0
activitiesactivities.htmlactivities.htmlshapeimage_20_link_0
studio/games roomshapeimage_21_link_0
bookingshapeimage_22_link_0
homeLerigoligan.htmlLerigoligan.htmlshapeimage_23_link_0
cottageInterior.html
the bothyBothy.htmlBothy.htmlshapeimage_25_link_0
contactContact.html
locationMap.htmlMap.htmlshapeimage_27_link_0
galleryFood.htmlFood.htmlshapeimage_28_link_0
newsshapeimage_29_link_0
activitiesactivities.htmlactivities.htmlshapeimage_30_link_0
studio/games roomshapeimage_31_link_0
bookingshapeimage_32_link_0
homeLerigoligan.htmlLerigoligan.htmlshapeimage_33_link_0
cottageInterior.html
the bothyBothy.htmlBothy.htmlshapeimage_35_link_0
contactContact.html
locationMap.htmlMap.htmlshapeimage_37_link_0
galleryFood.htmlFood.htmlshapeimage_38_link_0
newsshapeimage_39_link_0
activitiesactivities.htmlactivities.htmlshapeimage_40_link_0
bookingBooking.html
studio/games roomshapeimage_42_link_0
bookingshapeimage_43_link_0
the houseLerigoligan.htmlLerigoligan.htmlshapeimage_44_link_0
interiorInterior.html
the bothyBothy.htmlBothy.htmlshapeimage_46_link_0
contactContact.html
mapMap.htmlMap.htmlshapeimage_48_link_0
galleryFood.htmlFood.htmlshapeimage_49_link_0
reviewsshapeimage_50_link_0
activitiesactivities.htmlactivities.htmlshapeimage_51_link_0
bookingBooking.html

Yoga weekend


Fabulous, comfortable space - excellent quality throughout (beds, showers, everything) Warm and welcoming Lovely to be in nature - the birds are magnificent The bothy is cosy practice space


4.8 / 5.0   20/03/2017


Lovely place to stay


We had chosen Lerigoligan for the location and the flexibility of the accommodation, as we had different family and friends staying with us during the week. As it turned out we had chosen very well. The cottage is in a very peaceful setting with great views. We had the cottage and the bothy so there was plenty of space for everyone to spread out and relax. The cottage was warm and cosy and well equipped. Even Archie the Border Terrier loved it!


5.0 / 5.0   20/02/2017


Lerigoligan - now our favourite holiday cottage


Lerigoligan is even better than the pictures - its a beautiful cottage, and we could easily have spent our whole week looking at the amazing view of the sea loch from the sun room. Its warm, very spacious and really comfortable, furnished with an elegant simplicity. But there is plenty to do in the local area so its a great base for a winter holiday. There are lovely walks from the door, small islands to explore, prehistoric remains and attractions around Oban - plus great places to eat. We will definitely be coming back.


5.0 / 5.0  09/02/2017


A favourite place


Wonderful to be back in Lerigoligan ... one of our favourite places in Scotland. Waking up to the stunning view from our bedroom is special. The house is so warm and comfortable with plenty of space for us all. The peaceful surroundings and the natural daylight everywhere within the house makes for a very relaxing atmosphere. We had a number of lovely walks interspersed with just the right amount of lazing about and visits to the Crafty Kitchen.


5.0 / 5.0   24/12/2016


fabulous holiday venue


Wonderfully appointed accommodation at a very reasonable cost. Location was fabulous for lazy days enjoying the view and for going out and about, discovering the history and countryside. Would highly recommend.


5.0 / 5.0   19/11/2016


Beautiful setting, house and soooo well appointed - in remote location


Another fabulous stay at Lerigoligan. Our music group loves it here, so inspirational in terms of location and facilities to mean even a larger group is easily accomodated... including those who want to run on the hills, escape to Oban for a morning or wander down to the pub. Just such a fabulous finish to the whole house, it's warm and welcoming and a joy to borrow for the all too short days! Thanks all for lovely stay. We are becoming accustomed to the workings of the induction hob and cooker even!!


5.0 / 5.0   16/11/2016


just beautiful


we love coming here and the weather is always perfect! the house has everything you need and the surrounding area is just stunning


5.0 / 5.0   5/11/2016


revitalized


Stunning location and perfect accommodation, both offering peace and tranquility. By the end of our stay we felt relaxed and revitalized and we were blessed with beautiful weather! Thank you


5.0 / 5.0 16/09/2016


Lerigoligan - the most wonderful holiday home.


Lerigoligan is maintained to a very high standard. Our friends who have visited us on holiday are quite overwhelmed by its situation and our New Zealand friends who came for two days couldn't believe the views from the house - they are breathtaking. It is very much home from home and there is everything in the house that you will need to enjoy your stay. There is much to do in the local area with lots of interesting walks that can be accessed from the house. We have been visiting Lerigoligan for 10 years and never tire of it - it's how we get our "Scottish" fix.


5.0 / 5.0   31/08/2016


Faultless


Having had a wonderful stay at Lerigoligan 7 years ago we were looking forward to returning this summer. The renovations that have been done to the house are excellent and the bedrooms with the loch views a real 'wow' feature. Rarely have we stayed anywhere which has been so comfortable - every aspect thoughtfully and well equipped. We made the most of the housekeeper's catering expertise and very much enjoyed the three meals that she prepared for us during our stay. The 'bothy' was a very welcome addition with it's table tennis and extra space. We had a fantastic week, the sun shone, and the views from the garden just stunning. Many thanks for sharing this special property.


5.0 / 5.0  12/08/2016


What a view! On our second visit on arrival we all repeated the little word 'wow'.


Returning to Lerigoligan this summer gave our family gathering much pleasure. Big sighs, smiles and comments of "it's so good to be back". On arrival first it was the breathtaking views, a huge 3 masted yacht included and then the Lerigoligan comfort experience. The house has everything you could possibly need although it took us 2 days before we found the toast rack! Lerigoligan is definitely a place for relaxation, great walks and stunning views. It is now a special family place for us, to which we will return, from the young to the elder members.


5.0 / 5.0   29/06/2016


A superb house in a wonderful location!


The house is perfect located above Ardfern at a wonderful loch with great view over the local yacht habour. The village of Ardfern is small but very charming with a nice cafe and a local shop where you can get anything.


4.8 / 5.0   29/05/2016


Ideal for meditation


We have been meditating for years here, and I can't imagine a better, more peaceful, vibrant with nature location, the hills nearby are a perfect counterpoint


5.0 /5.0  29/04/2016


Everything very good


Lerigoligan is a very special place. the views of the loch below were stunning to wake up to, the surrounding hills great for walking, and there lots of lovely touches, games cupboards, maps and literature that made us feel very much at home


5.0 / 5.0 15/04/2016


Lerigoligan


This is a wonderful house, in a stunning location. The house is beautifully designed and well-equipped, with everything of high quality, but without blingy ostentation! We loved it!


5.0 / 5.0   21/03/2016


Fabulous place. Nothing could be better. Thank you


I knew that we were going to a really stunning place and everything was perfect - from the cleanliness, the showers, the rooms, the views to die for and the whole atmosphere. Thank you so much. We loved it just as much as I knew we would.


5.0 / 5.0   19/03/2016


Beautiful house in a beautiful location


We have stayed in lots of holiday cottages around Scotland and indeed the rest of Europe and North America, and this really was the nicest one we have been lucky enough to find. Amazing views, top quality accommodation, absolutely everything you could need - I've never felt more at home on holiday. The only negative we had was that we had to leave a day early and travel home overnight due to heavy snow forecast. Good job we did as I am now sat at home 350 miles away with 8 inches of snow at my door and I believe it's beautiful sunshine in Ardfern! Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your lovely house, we would love to return in the future :-)


5.0 / 5.0   04/03/2016


Perfect for meditation


Fabulous venue for meditation. Beautiful vibrant location, wonderful landscape, abundant trees and birds. Cosy and intimate space secluded, tranquil, incomparable.


5.0 / 5.0  16/11/2015



Perfect.


We had a great five nights at Lerigoligan. The house is beautiful, very luxurious and the view is stunning. The kitchen is huge, very well organised and really well equipped. Lovely to have a big log fire in the evening. Big comfy bed with patio doors onto the amazing view. Sat outside eating breakfast in a vest a couple of mornings (at the end of October!!). The surrounding area is stunning too. Hope we can go back sometime!


5.0 / 5.0  31/10/2015



So well thought out to be very comfy and welcoming, with beautiful views to a stunning landscape


Lerigoligan has been designed and is kept to be a very easy place to stay in tasteful comfortable well-considered surroundings, with both cosy and open spaces.The house and kitchen are very well equipped. immaculately kept, warm and welcoming - the two bedrooms with views over the Ardfern boats ,the peninsular and on a good day out to Jura are spectacular as is the light glass link dining room which also enjoys these views.. and that is all before you go outside ... If you haven't been to Ardfern already look it up on the map and go and see for yourself!


5.0 / 5.0  29/09/2015



Return to Lerigoligan


As always, it was so good to be back at Lerigoligan; it is the most wonderful house and always exceeds expectations. The accommodation and equipment are 5 star, there is absolutely everything in the house that you will need to enjoy your holiday. There are great walks and the house is very close to the marina at Ardfern. The views are quite spectacular, looking down Craignish Peninsula towards Jura and Islay, We had a very busy and relaxing three weeks, and was able to share our holiday with family and friends who were overwhelmed by Lerigoligan and the incredible scenery. As one of our guests said "This has to be one of the most beautiful places I've visited, and the best equipped holiday house I have ever visited. It is very much home from home." We wholeheartedly agree.


5.0 / 5.0  31/08/2015



Stunning holiday home


As mature visitors to Lerigoligan with ages ranging from 50 to 82 years young we much appreciated the fabulous comforts, superb layout and well equipped kitchen, as well as the beautifully appointed bathrooms. Most of all the new addition of the 'West Wing' and easy access through the entrance for the elderly disabled member of our party was much appreciated. The easy access added to their independence and ability to relax.The location of Lerigoligan is superb, the views are stunning, the immediate walks are wonderful and the close proximity of the village amenities means you barely need to drive out of the village. If I had to make one criticism it would be that we found the living room chairs too soft but that might be down to our mature ages!! We plan to book again for next year.


5.0 / 5.0  29/06/2015



"Top 10" facility. We loved it!


Our stay was perfect in every way. The cottage is superb and the location is incredible. The ambience is warm, inviting and cosy. We will be back....often.


5.0 / 5.0  05/06/2015



a wonderful week


A truly wonderful stay. the house itself is beautiful, with incredible views. Set up fantastically for a group to be all together and separate as desired.. Lots of ping pong and fires when the weather isn't great, but most of the time out and about in the beautiful local area. Great walking, wildlife and boat trips. Seafood straight off the boat, lovely local produce and a little whisky! I could not recommend it highly enough.


5.0 / 5.0  25/05/2015



Blown away


We had a wonderful time! We have stayed at holiday homes before but never in such a well-equipped, clean and spacious home as this one. And the view... we were completely blown away (that would include the literal meaning, when we climbed to the top of the hill where we could also see the valley on the other side). We spent hours watching the birds from the sun room (bird feed provided for) and the ever changing skies. Just one criticism: we felt the photographs of Lerigoligan on the website really don't do the place justice. Look at these photo's and multiply by ten. You'll be happy you chose this place when you arrive!


5.0 / 5.0  01/05/2015



Glasgow Zen Group Meditation Retreat


I cannot imagine a better place to hold a meditation Retreat. The landscape is magnificent and inspiring, the grounds are beautiful and full of playful little singing birds.


4.7 / 5.0  10/04/2015


Highland Christmas Break

For the second year in a row we spent Christmas week at Lerigoligan. The house was as beautiful as we remembered. What we love about it - the lovely warm and comfortable bedrooms and especially the very good beds, the elegant bathrooms (a rare treat in Scotland), the sitting room with the log fire and the mid century furniture, the big farmhouse kitchen with its great long table perfect for family breakfast on Christmas morning and for our murder mystery dinner on Boxing Day, the utility room with the extra fridge for storing our bottles of prosecco, and most of all? - the beautiful view of the the loch down below and the hillside across the water, the hills and the sky. If we ever get there in summer we'll enjoy the little sun room and the link dining room. Everything clean and warm and waiting for us. The perfect place for a relaxed family break.


5.0 / 5.0  06/01/2015


The perfect retreat

This was our second stay at Lerigoligan. The house is amazing - very comfortable, well equipped and in a beautiful location with stunning hilltop views over the water.

5.0 /5.0   16/12/2014


Wonderful space for our music weekend

Once again fabulous stay at "Leri" for our folk music weekend - amazingly well appointed, warm, comfortable, eco-friendly, wonderful views from almost all the rooms, and with log fire and fabulous kitchen and bathrooms and good beds and bedding, it's everyone's dream home! I love the bendy wall in the last bedroom/bathroom. Ardfern is a bit off the beaten track (2hr45m drive from Glasgow) - but so worth it when you get there! Geraldine.

5.0 / 5.0   17/11/2014


A gorgeous Scottish experience

Every aspect of this gorgeous house shows that the owners care deeply about the property, the surrounding environment and the comfort and pleasure of their guests. Everything that a guest could wish for has been thought about and the whole house has been recently renovated and rebuilt to the highest standard and in beautiful taste. "Stunning views" has become a cliché in holiday reviews but this time it's true! Sweeping vistas of sea, hillside and mountain greet you from every window. The situation of the house is completely private yet only minutes from an interesting, bustling village full of amenities. You could not fail to have a peaceful yet stimulating stay in this beautiful house where every need and pleasure has been catered for. Well done the owners and thanks!

5.0 / 5.0   12/09/2014


Lerigoligan - a spectacular location

We always look forward to returning to Lerigoligan; it's quite the most delightful home with spectacular views down over Loch Craignish. The house has everything you need - very much home from home. The area is stunning with lots to do: sailing walking, and chilling out! We can't wait to return.

4.8 / 5.0   29/08/2014


A beautiful renovated house (to the highest standard) in a stunning location.

This is a truly beautiful house which has a wonderful view of the Craignish coastline, taking in small islands and, if you're lucky, gorgeous sunsets. The interior has been renovated with quality and lovely simplicity, yet with everything and more you could possibly need. Highly recommended.

5.0 / 5.0   24/06/2014


A beautiful house with an incredible view

We had a great stay at Lerigoligan. The house is beautifully situated with incredible views, and is very clean and comfortable. And we were lucky enough to have amazingly warm and sunny weather for our stay (especially for April), which made it all the more enjoyable!

5.0 / 5.0   06/05/2014


Lerigoligan - a beautiful place to stay

The house is amazing. It is spacious, comfortable, very well equipped and maintained, and has stunning views. It is set in a beautiful, peaceful garden.

5.0 / 5.0   11/04/2014


Wonderful location and house

This is one of those few houses that when you arrive you can't believe how well you have chosen and how you never thought it would be as good as it is. The location is so special that, if you can pull yourself away from the view from the house, one way you can wander down a steepish hill and walk along the single track road on the lochside to the shop and pub while in the other direction be immediately on your own amongst the heather and hills looking over Craignish and out to Jura. The house has loads of space and the kitchen better equipped than mine at home. So if you're thinking of going to that part of the west coast this is the house to go for... it's even away from street lights so the stars are special too.

5.0 / 5.0   11/03/2014


Idyllic Christmas

I spent Christmas at Lerigoligan with my three children who range in age from 14 to 22, so fussy types, of course. It was really magical - roaring fires, cosy rooms, a fabulous well equipped kitchen. We had five relaxed and happy days, enjoyed cooking good meals, tv, long walks - and the excellent facilities for drying out afterwards! We loved it and would recommend it.

5.0 / 5.0   08/01/2014


Long weekend

This is a really lovely house in immaculate condition and with plenty of room for the whole family. It is remote and a bit tricky to find in the dark but the views in the daylight are wonderful and well worth it.

5.0 / 5.0   09/12/2013


Glasgow Zen Group Meditation Retreat

The best meditation venue we have ever had. We hope to be able to come here forever. Wonderful natural environment, very comfortable accommodation, perfect setting

4.3 / 5.0  17/11/2013


A haven of calm, comfort and homeliness

Weekend let for our music group, in autumn/winter from this fabulous home - recently refurbished and extended to a very high spec for both comfort and eco-technologies to be kind to the environment as well. Plenty space, to say is well-appointed is an understatement. East wing for snorers, west wing for sleepers! The location perfect for us, as we know it as a get-away-from-it-all place. You really need a car to get here. The light constantly changing over the water and the hills beyond. Came back calmer of mind. Thank you.

5.0 / 5.0   16/11/2013


October break at Lerigoligan, Ardfern

Our 2 families had a fantastic break at the gorgeous Lerigoligan at Ardfern. The views were amazing and I have never been in such a well equipped holiday house. All family members, old and young, had a great time watching the sunrises and sunsets over the sea loch from the house - quite breathtaking!! The village of Ardfern was very friendly and we particularly enjoyed our meal at The Galley of Lorne and our walk from the house over the hill to Croabh Haven and back. Thank you

5.0 / 5.0   23/10/2013


Lerigoligan - a magical retreat on the West Coast of Scotland

Lerigoligan is the most wonderful home in Ardfern, with views overlooking the village and Craignish Peninsula leading to Jura and beyond. The view is just incredible and has to one of the best views in Scotland. It is lovely to sit in the conservatory and watch the yachts sailing out of the marina. It is very much a family home with excellent accommodation, well equipped for a large family. This has been our first visit since Lerigoligan has been extended and updated, and it really has the wow factor. We can't wait to return again next year. There is lots to do in the area, from sailing and walking to mountain biking - it has something for everyone.

4.8 / 5.0  27/09/13


studio/games roomshapeimage_54_link_0
bookingshapeimage_55_link_0
HouseLerigoligan.html
InteriorInterior.html
BothyBothy.html
ContactContact.html
MapMap.html
FoodFood.html
Reviews
Activitiesactivities.html
BookingBooking.html